Sweet Nothings

sweet-nothing

I speak words that
Dance to the beat
Of your eardrums
Void of melody
For there’s a discord in your elements

I understand that
My sweet nothings
Were once words
You heard from another

And in them was
Opulence aplenty, because
They merged with your heartbeat
And spake to your soul

But in them
Was hurt and betrayal
The curse of failed promises
That arise from love lost in lust

Hence my words
Aren’t as venomous,
They don’t contain the poison
That once marred your vision

So much so
My good intentions
Seem like mere infatuations
And are perceived as false pretenses

But what is love
Without a storm?
A reminder of
Clearer skies maybe?

Nonetheless if I may;
Vow to the cadence in your heart,
That in my words
You’ll find the makings of a love
Whole and able to stand the test of time.

– Smyekh David-West.

 

 

Leave a Reply

