Talking Voice

Billie-Holiday-web

The voice in your voice
Moves me
To speak in tongues
When I hear your poems.
 
And I’m often torn
Between the lines within,
Begging for ample opportunity
To prove my worth.
 
For worthiness is something
I’m innocent of
As I’m never worthy
Of your innocence.
 
You’re like fresh rain,
And as nature perishes without it’s touch
I need all of you
In generous proportions.
 
For I stammer sometimes
Because your words conquer mine
And my heart surrenders
To the allure with which you speak.
– Smyekh David-West.
Leave a Reply

