Songs About You

6195751_tinariwen-01-m

I write songs about you
Because I hear your voice
In the melodies.
 
The infatuation is mostly
About how your name
Nestles in the chorus.
 
And it’s repetition
Reminds me of the first time
I sung at church
Before my voice broke.
 
These days it’s raspy,
For the coarseness is dedicated
To the contours in your body
Because I’m continually taken aback.
 
Most times I sing about you
With my eyes closed
To capture the passion in your beauty
 
And during my breathing intervals
I envision the dimples that ushers your smile
For it’s the spark that ignites
The flames that engulf my spirit.
 
My soul dances to the songs
Of the woman you embody
Courtesy of the instruments
That back up my vocals.
 
And in their different accents
They tell eloquent stories
About how I can’t get enough of you.
– Smyekh David-West.
Leave a Reply

