Because You Left Yesterday

614a3861f934d98f8bd41b68d8f6221a

Thick thighs and curves
That cause gods to bow in worship
My love for you is in your perceived flaws
And I say that with the proudest
Realms of my humble soul.
 
High cheekbones and beautiful smiles
I have dreams of how your skin glows at night time
So much so, I die to see your face daily
And I say that with the most vivid
Recollections of my imagination.
 
Tswana tongues and subtle clicks
It’s the fervor with which your lips dance to your voice,
Magnificently twisting my percipience like newly plaited Bantu knots
And I say that with the most dulcet
Skips of my beating heart.
 
Nostalgia and partial glimpses of heaven
Because after you left yesterday
I couldn’t stop thinking about you
And I just want to say
I can’t wait to kiss you.
– Smyekh David-West.
Leave a Reply

