Renaissance

image

I knew about you in the life before
I saw you in my front garden,
You nestled among the roses
They nurtured from your radiance.

On my birth day
I cried your name
And my tears ran
The ends of the world to find you.

In my first dreams
We danced bare in the rain
You always left, and
Begged me to follow.

You came as a sister
On the cusp of February
You married death
And I didn’t know how to mourn

Your eyes are a spitting image,
From the psalms of genesis.
In the blessings of reincarnation
I’ve found you anew.

I’ll see you again in the after life
In my cold grave I’ll lay in wait
For heaven is only heaven
If my hands are intertwined with yours.

– Smyekh David-West.

Leave a Reply

