Enkindle

2014-04-18-hopper1

I want to die in your arms
Crushed by your pounding heart
I want to breathe through
Your dimpled smile
Resuscitate me before I die
For in your bosom
Is where I shall be born again.

Smear your lips on and around
Where you stole my heart
Let me hear the beats through
Your blossoming affection
Resuscitate me before I die
Let your benign kisses
Beat life into my soul’s dying heart.

Let’s rendezvous at night time
I want to sail the skies with a star
Take me to where the sun sleeps
That I might see your beauty in clarion,
Magnified and in all its glory
Bless the underside of my eyelids
I want to see visions of you when they shut.

I want to call you darling
So I can whisper in secret places
About the time I was in the presence
Of a god moulded by folklore
I want tornadoes to dance to my ballads
And as the clouds rumble with wonder
May my stories be summoned in the heavens.

Forgive me for the praise
For my knees buckle underneath me
And my hands are in upward limbo
Forgive me for the worship
For my heart has taken
The shape of your curves
And pounds to the sound of your voice.

– Smyekh David-West.

.

Leave a Reply

