Words

words

She said I had a way with words,
I smiled; exposed dentures for all to see,
A portrait of plausible clauses,
Then I spake,
Spat out what some might call feelings,
The harsh reality of it all,
Words I’d die for her to hear,
But what are words if they mean nothing?

She said I had a way with words,
My smile faded, replaced by crooked lines,
They wavered; a barrage of syllables,
As copious amounts of dolor surmounts,
I felt her fingers as my eyes gleamed,
Once again I spake,
Words from the deepest of my heart,
But what are words if they mean nothing?

She said I had a way with words,
Tranquil overcame my vocal cords,
I spake in a drunken slur,
Songs that exude melodies from within,
Cupped with romance and despair,
Smeared with hoarseness and coarseness,
A tone beat from heaven,
But what are words if they mean nothing?

– Smyekh David-West.

Leave a Reply

